Songs for teachers and learners

Phoebe Hunt - Sugar

 

You can’t bake a cake without a little sugar

there’s plenty of it hanging ‘round the lemonade stand

if he ain’t been sweet listen to my plan

and add a little sugar to your man

 

I went to the doctor on fifty-third in Maine

to tell him that my man had gone sour

I asked him what to do and what did he say

he said a little bit of sugar goes a long long way

 

You can’t bake a cake without a little sugar

there’s plenty of it hanging ‘round the lemonade stand

if he ain’t been sweet listen to my plan

and add a little sugar to your man

 

I put a little bit of sugar in his coffee

a little bit more in his tea

and I even put some in the mashed potatoes

but the fool wouldn’t pay attention to me

 

You can’t bake a cake without a little sugar

there’s plenty of it hanging ’round the lemonade stand

if he ain’t been sweet listen to my plan

and add a little sugar to your man

 

The sugar didn’t seem to work, none

so I tried a little honey in its place

but my man still tasted salty so

I poured the whole damn bag in his face.

 

You can’t bake a cake without a little sugar

there’s plenty of it hanging ‘round the lemonade stand

if he ain’t been sweet listen to my plan

add a little sugar to your man

 

 

Task:

 

Words in bold are left out. Students listen to the song and try to fill in the missing words.

After checking the answers: what is the connection between the words in bold?

 

 

grammar:

past simple

 

related topics:

relationships

metaphors

Címkék: song

Szólj hozzá!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://learningwithsongs.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr505546886

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása